51 Seniors Receive National Merit Recognition

This September, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NSMC) announced the names of the semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship program. Fourteen Regis seniors who have displayed outstanding academic talent and achievement are among the approximately 16,000 students nation-wide who have qualified for the recognition.

According to the National Merit Scholarship's press release, this year saw the 16,000 semifinalists emerge from a pool of 1.6 million high school juniors who entered the program by taking the 2017 PSAT. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of US high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. These high school seniors will have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships that will be offered next spring, which are worth more than $31 milion in total.

According to Hee-Sun Hong, Director of College Counseling at Regis, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition in order to be considered for a Merit Scholarship award. About 90% of semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. National Merit Scholarship finalists will be announced in February, while scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 420 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

The members of the Class of 2019 who were named semifinalists are:

Duncan Barcelona
Timothy DeMaro
Robert DeSena
Hikaru Jitsukawa
Jacob Kaiserman
Kyle Kampta
Alexander Lee
Daniel Lewis
Nicholas Lombardi
Cole Mader
Morgan McCordick
Christian Morales
Miguel Sutedjo
Matthew Trapasso

Additionally, 35 students were recognized as National Merit Commended Students, and 9 students were recognized as National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars.

The National Merit Commended Students are:

Colin Adamo
Harry Brett-Butcher
Adnrew Cartano
James Corrigan
Terence Coyne
Wilkin De Los Santos
Richard DeCurtis
Marco Deicas
Jack Delaney
William Eastwick
Robert Fanciullo
Patrick Flood
Matthew Kluge
Ralph Lamberti
Ryan Lee
Nathan LoPinto
Brett McCarron
James McGibbon
Finn O'Malley
Joseph O'Neill
Aleksandr Petukhov
Kenneth Rossi
Kevin Ryan
Owen Ryan
Robert Schier
Shand Stephens
Carlos Tenreiro-Braschi
Greogry Terry
Avery Trinidad
Christopher Tronolone
Daniel Tully
Michael Valverde
Andrew Vittoria
Daniel Wolfe
Nathaniel Wood

The National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars are:

Marco DeicasShane Harris
William Hernandez
Daniel Lewis
Nathan LoPinto
Christian Morales
Carlos Tenreiro-Braschi
Michael Valverde
Andrew Vittoria

Posted: 11/8/18