Regis Seniors Earn National Merit Recognition

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced in September the names of semifinalists in the 66th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Among the approximately 16,000 students who qualified, 16 Regis seniors were recognized as semifinalists for their outstanding academic talents and achievements.

Over 1.5 million juniors entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 PSAT exam, from which the 16,000 qualifying students were determined. The semifinalists, who represent less than one percent of US high school seniors, will have the opportunity to compete for roughly 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million.

In addition to having a strong academic record throughout high school, students must submit a detailed scholarship application to become a Finalist, outlining among other things their extracurricular involvement and demonstrated leadership abilities. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship.

Additionally, 42 seniors were recognized as National Merit Commended Students, and 31 were named National Recognition Scholars, a program developed by The College Board to create pathways to college for students from underrepresented communities.

NMSC was established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC and by approximately 420 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

The members of the Class of 2021 who were named semifinalists are:
Thomas Barone Etienne Busnel Christian Garcia-De La Jara William Jaenicke Dylan Kenniff William Knoff Christopher May Liam McGraw Stanislaw Kowalski Thomas Neubert Jacob Paras Thomas Petrocelli Simon Rodriguez Cabrera Marcus Schubert James White Joseph Zuccarello
The students recognized as National Merit Commended Students are:
Maciej Adamczyk Grayson Brooks Andrew Brush Dylan Campione Nicolas Casey Thomas Cassidy Julian Castaybert Alain-Claude Compas Edward Desciak John Doyle Connor Flannery Conor Geelan Aran Glynn Dylan Gunn Marko Gural Charles Hannafey Patrick Jennings David Jimenez Michael Juzeniw Seth Kampta Andreas Kirmaier Eric Krieger Timothy Lake Joseph Liberatore Joseph Ligresti Ben Lischin Keith Macias Gabriel McClure Eamon McShane Kevin Morrissy John Murphy John O’Hara James Pocchia James Ramos Tynan Reynolds Thomas Richardson Xavier Rousseau Marvin Siguencia Christopher Smith Daniel Smith Lex Szymczyk Eamon Tracey
The students named National Recognition Scholars are:
Matthew Vizzini John Doyle Xavier Rousseau Alain-Claude Compas Ignacio Dowling Reed Nerlino Gabriel Alexander Mawutor Goh Gerard Spooner Christian Garcia-De La Jara Simon Rodriguez James Ramos Gabriel McClure Antonio Clemente Joseph Pane Eric Krieger Marvin Siguencia John O'Hara Michael Juzeniw David Jimenez Nicolas Casey Sebastian Orozco Juan Arturo Trillo Geovanny Benitez-Ramirez Nicolas Molina Andre Monteiro Ian Bifet Matthew Rodriguez Peter Ortiz Walter Koike-Sieria Anthony Sukendro

Posted: 9/22/20